44th Annual Saturn Awards Nominees

Holy decent award nominees, Batman! The Saturn Awards announced this years nominees. These nominees make me much happier than other award nominees have. Its nice to see someone willing to give awards (or at least nominations) to films and TV shows that are actually high quality and enjoyable as opposed to ones that people just think they’re supposed to like. Now some of the same films appear here as did in the Oscars but they appear along side others that make me happy. Plus, this is actually where Birdman makes sense…not the fucking Oscars. Boyhood should have swept the Oscars.

On to the nominees:

Best Comic Book To Film Release:
The Amazing Spiderman 2, Captain America: Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, X-Men:Days of Future Past.

My favorite = Guardians of the Galaxy is my favorite out of these. I actually HAVE seen all of these movies. I think its the only film category where that is the case.

Best Science Fiction Film Release:
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Edge of Tomorrow, Godzilla, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1, Interstellar, The Zero Theorem.

My Favorite = Godzilla (but I haven’t seen Zero Theorem, Interstellar or Mockingjay) was my favorite but with Dawn of the Planet of the Apes a close second. I expect Dawn of the Planet of the Apes to win and it probably IS more deserving of it as a better overall movie than Godzilla.

Best Fantasy Film Release:
Birdman, The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Into the Woods, Maleficent, Paddington.

My Favorite: Maleficent (haven’t seen Hobbit or Paddington) or Grand Budapest Hotel are my favorites of these. Malificent I think fits the category better and is the better over all film but Birdman will probably win.

Best Horror Release:
Annabelle, The Babadook, Dracula Untold, Horns, Only Lovers Left Alive, The Purge: Anarchy

My Favorite: I’ve only seen Horns and Only Lovers Left Alive and I loved them both but my favorite would be Only Lovers Left Alive. I felt like it really should have been one of the genre movies that the Oscars recognized. Every now and then a horror or scifi movie DOES get Oscar nominations and sometimes even wins. This deserved nominations.

Best Thriller Film Release:
American Sniper, The Equalizer, Gone Girl, The Imitation game, Nightcrawler

My Favorite: I haven’t seen any of these. I really should try to watch more movies. Its difficult for me to have time to focus on an entire movie.

Best Action/Adventure Film Release:
Exodus: Gods and Kings, Inherent Vice, Lucy, Noah, Snowpiercer, Unbroken.

My Favorite: I’ve only seen Lucy and I wasn’t that fond of it. It wasn’t bad. It just felt like a sci-fi version of Crank with a female lead.

Best Actor In A Film:
Tom Cruise (Edge of Tomorrow), Chris Evans (Captain America Winter Soldiers), Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler), Michael Keaton (Birdman), Matthew McConaughey (Interstellar), Chris Pratt (Guardians of the Galaxy), Dan Stevens (The Guest).

My Favorite: Out of what I have seen I’d say Chris Pratt. Although I won’t be surprised and won’t be upset if Michael Keaton wins. I didn’t like the movie itself but he did get to show off how good of an actor he is in it and I wouldn’t be angry at all about it winning acting awards.

Best Actress in a Film:
Emily Blunt (Edge of Tomorrow), Essie Davis (The Babadook), Anne Hathaway (Interstellar), Angelina Jolie (Maleficent), Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1), Rosemund Pike (Gone Girl)

My Favorite: Angelina Jolie would be my pick because she was great in this part. However, the only other movie I have seen in this category is Edge of Tomorrow.

Best Supporting Actor in a Film
Richard Armitage (The Hobbit: Battle of the Five Armies), Josh Brolin (Inherent Vice), Samuel L Jackson (Captain America Winter Soldier), Anthony Mackie (Captain America Winter Soldier), Andy Serkis (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes), J.K Simmons (Whiplash)

My Favorite: ANDY SERKIS. Give Andy Serkis all of the awards. I love that the Saturn awards understand that acting is more than just appearing on camera. Motion capture and voice acting is also acting. They have demonstrated how aware they are of this by this nomination and by Scarlet Johansson’s nomination and win for her brilliant performance in Her last year.

Best Supporting Actress in a Film:
Jessica Chastain (Interstellar), Scarlett Johansson (Captain America: Winter Soldier), Evangeline Lily (The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies), Rene Russo (Nightcrawler), Emma Stone (Birdman), Meryl Streep (Into The Woods).

My Favorite: You know, I love Emma Stone. I’d say Emma Stone. At least having not seen Interstellar, The Hobbitt or Nightcrawler that is who I say.

Best Performance by a Younger Actor in a Film:
Elle Fanning (Maleficent), MacKenzie Foy (Interstellar), Chloe Grace Moretz (The Equalizer), Tony Revolori (The Grand Budapest Hotel), Kodi Smit-McPhee (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes), Noah Wiseman (The Babadook)

My Favorite: I’m not sure I have an opinion on this category. I suppose i’d say Elle Fanning because I always like her.

Best Film Director:
Alejandro G Innarritu (Birdman), James Gunn (Guardians of the Galaxy), Doug Liman (Edge of Tomorrow), Christopher Nolan (Interstellar), Matt Reeves (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes), Joe Russo, Anthony Russo (Captain American; Winter Soldier), Bryan Singer (X Men Days of Future Past)

My Favorite: James Gunn for sure. Guardians of the Galaxy is brilliantly executed. I could even understand Innarritu getting this and wouldn’t be as annoyed about it as I was about the Oscar since he isn’t up against Richard Linklater this time.

Best Film Writing:
Captain America: Winter Soldier, Edge of Tomorrow, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Guardians of the Galaxy, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Whiplash

My Favorite: The Grand Budapest Hotel or Guardians of the Galaxy. I haven’t seen Whiplash or The Hobbit.

Best Film Editing:
Captain America: Winter Soldier, Edge of Tomorrow, Guardians of the Galaxy, Interstellar, Unbroken, X Men: Days of Future Past

My Favorite: I have no preference on this one at all.

Best Film Production Design:
Captain America: Winter Soldier, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Guardians of the Galaxy, Interstellar, Into the Woods.

My Favorite: Into the Woods. I didn’t really like the movie but the production design was pretty cool.

Best Film Music:
Captain America: Winter Soldier, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Godzilla, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, How to Train Your Dragon 2, Interstellar

My Favorite: I have no preference on this either.

Best Film Costume:
Dracula Untold, Exodus: Gods and Kings, Guardians of the Galaxy, Into the Woods, Maleficent, X Men: Days of Future Past.

My Favorite: Eeek…..I’d say either Guardians of the Galaxy, Maleficent or Into the Woods.

Best Film Makeup:
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Dracula Untold, Guardians of the Galaxy, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Into the Woods, X-Men: Days of Future Past

My Favorite: Guardians of the Galaxy for sure.

Best Film Special/Visual Effects:
Captain America: Winter Soldier, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Edge of Tomorrow, Guardians of the Galaxy, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Interstellar

My Favorite: I have no idea….I want to say Guardians of the Galaxy but I honestly have little opinion on this.

Best Independent Film Release:
Grand Piano, I Origins, A Most Violent Year, The One I Love, The Two Faces of January, Whiplash

My Favorite: I haven’t seen any of these

Best International Film Release:
Bird People, Calvary, Force Majeur, Mood Indigo, The Railway Man, The Theory of Everything

My Favorite: I haven’t seen any of these either.

Best Animated Film Release:
Big Hero 6, The Boxtrolls, How to Train Your Dragon 2, The Lego Movie, The Wind Rises.

My Favorite:
Big Hero Six.

Best Network Television Series:
The Blacklist, The Following, Grimm, Hannibal, Person of Interest, Sleepy Hollow

My Favorite: I don’t currently watch any of these.

Best Syndicated/Cable TV Show:
12 Monkeys, American Horror Story, Continuum, Falling Skies, Salem, The Strain, The Walking Dead

My Favorite: I’d love for Falling Skies to win but The Walking Dead will likely win. which is also okay. Last season was really good.

Best Limited Run TV Series:
Bates Motel, From Dusk Till Dawn, Game of Thrones, The Last Ship, The Librarians, Outlander.

My Favorite: The Librarians. I love that show. I’d love for it to win.

Best Superhero Adaptation TV Series:
Agent Carter, Agents of SHEILD, Arrow, Constantine, The Flash, Gotham

My Favorite: I don’t really watch any of these. I liked what I saw of Gotham.

Best Youth-Oriented TV Series:
The 10, Doctor Who, Pretty Little Liars, Supernatural, Teen Wolf, The Vampire Diaries

My Favorite: I’m not sure I agree that all of these shows are “youth oriented”…but Doctor Who would be my pick.

Best Actor in a TV Series:
Hugh Dancy (Hannibal), Grant Gustin (The Flash), Andrew Lincoln (The Walking Dead), Tobias Menzies (outlander), Mads Mikkelsen (Hannibal), Noah Wyle (Falling Skies)

My Favorite: Why isn’t Noah Wyle nominated for The Librarians? At least in supporting or guest actor maybe? Oh well. For this category I’d say Andrew Lincoln. He did a great job last season. He finally got to show his talent. He deserves an award.

Best Actress in a TV Series:
Haley Atwill (Agent Carter), Caitronia Balfe (Outlander), Vera Farmiga (Bates Motel), Jessica Lange (American Horror Story), Rachel Nichols (Continuum), Rebecca Romjin (The Librarians)

My Favorite: Rebecca Romjin. My pick will always be for any nominee related to The Librarians.

Best Supporting Actor in a TV Series:
David Bradley (The Strain), Laurence Fishburne (Hannibal), Sam Heughan (Outlander), Erik Knudsen (Continuum), Norman Reedus (The Walking Dead), Richard Samuel (The Strain)

My Favorite: Well, I don’t watch most of these shows. So, I’m saying Norman Reedus.

Best Supporting Actress in a TV Series:
Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones), Jenna Coleman (Doctor Who), Caroline Dhavernas (Hannibal), Lexa Doig (Continuum), Emily Kinney (The Walking Dead), Melissa McBride (The Walking Dead)

My Favorite: I would say either Jenna Coleman or Emily Kinney. I’ll go with Emily Kinney since it was her last full season on the show and Jenna Coleman has at least one more on Doctor Who.

Best Performance By A Younger Actor in a TV Series:
Camren Bicondova (Gotham), Maxim Knight (Falling Skies), Tyler Posey (Teen Wolf), Chandler Riggs (The Walking Dead), Holly Taylor (The Americans), Maisie Williams (Game of Thrones)

My Favorite: Camren Bicondova. All the young actors on Gotham are awesome.

Best Guest Performance in a TV Series:
Dominic Cooper (Agent Carter), Neil Patrick Harris (American Horror Story), John Larroquette (The Librarians), Wentworth Miller (The Flash), Michael Pitt (Hannibal), Andrew J West (The Walking Dead).

My Favorite: John Larroquette. Of course.

The rest of the categories are dvds and theater stuff. I don’t know anything about any of them. I’ll list them but I have opinion or preference of winners.

Best DVD/BD Release:
Beneath, Blue Ruin, Odd Thomas, Ragnarok, White Bird in a Blizzard, Wolf Creek 2

Best DVD/BD Special Edition Release:
Alexander: The Ultimate Cut, The Hobbit: the Desolation of Smaug Extended Cut, Nightbreed: The Directors Cut, Once Upon a Time in America: Extended Director’s Cut, Sorcerer, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: 40th Anniversary Edition

Best DVD/BD TV Release:
Batman: The Complete Television Series, Hannibal: Season 2, Merlin: The Complete Series, Spartacus: The Complete Series, Star Trek: The Next Generation Season 7, Twin Peaks: The Entire Mystery, Wizards and Warriors: The Complete Series

Best DVD/BD Collection Release:
The Exorcist: The Complete Anthology, Halloween: The Complete Collection, Stanley Kubrick: The Masterpiece Collection, Steven Spielberg Director’s Collection, Toho Godzilla Collection, Universal Classic Monsters: Complete 30 Film Collection

Best Local Live Stage Production:
Damn Yankees, Ghost Brothers of Darkland County, The Last Confession, Pippin, Ragtime, Stoneface: The Rise and Fall and Rise of Buster Keaton, The Wizard of Oz

The winners aren’t announced until June. Are these even televised? I’ve never watched them. I think I use to only know the winners because multiple sci-fi and horror magazines would do an article about them after the nominees were announced and then another when the winners came out.

I really like award shows but it seems like I never like any of the nominees at most of them. I usually like or have at least seen a lot more of the nominees for the Saturn awards. I hope The Librarians wins something eventually. The movies won at least one Saturn award. So, it has a slight chance. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

