TV Review: Secrets & Lies Episode 106 “The Confession”

The beginning of this episode is a bit anticlimactic after the tense ending of the previous episode. It starts with Ben having already escaped from his car and the police already on the scene.

JULIETTE LEWIS, RYAN PHILLIPPE

The fast moving episode continues with Ben going after who he believes is behind the attacks against him. The options are limited since advanced technical techniques are being used. Ben allows a police detail on his family but refuses one for himself. Which turns out to be a bad idea.

Like The Slap, this show is a remake. I haven’t seen the original series (in either case). So, I know nothing about what is going to happen. The show was filmed in the town I live in but I never worked on it (I was very pregnant while it was filming) and I haven’t asked anyone that has worked on for info.

secrets and lies

I actually find myself wanting to be surprised by the twists and turns in this series. It’s unusual for me. I generally don’t like surprises. This show needs its surprises, though. They work for it and don’t make me anxious not knowing what will happen.

It’s hard to review it without giving away spoilers, which I don’t want to do. So, please pardon this short review. I’ve said about all I can say without spoiling things.

This is a tense episode. It’s also fairly light on Cornell. Which makes me like it a lot more.

secrets-and-lies-106-43

Secrets & Lies airs on Sunday at 9pm on ABC.

Leave a Reply

