Book Review: Food Swap by Emily Paster

While I knew that food swaps were a thing that existed I didn’t know that they existed in a capacity like this. Nor did I know they existed on a community level where anyone could sign up. This is definitely something I would like to look into. Even though the things I would be able to trade for are probably limited due to my food allergies and intolerances I would still love to go. I just have to perfect some recipes for things to take. Maybe once I get my herb garden going well I could take my own homegrown dried herbs and homemade extracts.

Anyway, this book which gives the history of the new food swap movement and how to organize and plan your own food swap (or how to attend one that already exists in your town/city) as well as some recipes for things you can prepare and take to trade, is interesting and straight forward. It gives all the info you could need or want about food swaps in a way that doesn’t get boring or repetitive.  

If you were already interested in attending or organizing a food swap then this definitely will help you out. However, if you’re just looking for recipes for small trades between friends then this may not be the book for you. Over half of the book is about how to organize and/or attend a community food swap. The section of recipes, while varied, isn’t vast. If they’re all you are looking for I would suggest checking this book out from the library as opposed to buying it or finding another book more geared toward recipes. Books about recipes you can make and give as gifts would also work well for small food swaps. So, maybe look for one of those if the recipes are all you are after. 

Unless of course you don’t mind paying for a book that isn’t all recipes and you have the disposable income to spend on multiple books. In which case, by all means, buy this book. Maybe you can read about food swaps and decide to attend one after all.

Food Swap by Emily Paster will be available to buy on May 17th at your favorite booksellers. My favorite is Amazon because the prices tend to be lower and I don’t have much disposable income for books. That said I do love browsing book stores when I can. 

*i received this book for free via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review*

 

Leave a Reply

