Book Review: The Weighted Blanket Guide by Eileen Parker

The Weighted Blanket Guide from Jessica Kingsley publishers, gives some back ground on weighted blankets as well as some of the theory behind why they work. It also talks about all the different conditions the blankets can be used to treat. 

Weighted Blankets can be used to treat more conditions than I was even aware of. Most do have to do with anxiety and sleep issues, though. I have wanted a weighted blanket myself for many years now and I also hope to get one for my daughter. Like some others whose stories are in the book I grew up using heavy handmade quilts and those just don’t exist anymore. I have never slept as well as I did with those quilts. 
While one would presume you would already have an interest in purchasing a weighted blanket prior to purchasing this book of you didn’t it is likely to convince you you need one. A heavy blanket can be very comforting and since they offered in lower weight options (5lbs or so) and really high weight (40+lbs) you are bound to find one that works for you. 
This book also gives instructions on making your own weighted blanket. This is what I intend to do and I’m sure I’ll refer to this book when I do. 
Overall, I found the structure of the book a little confusing and felt the organization of the chapters and topics they cover could have been done slightly differently to make it easier to follow but it certainly isn’t unreadable. You can still learn plenty of useful and interesting things from it as it is. 
You can purchase The Weighted Blanket Guide on May 19th at your favorite book seller. 

*I received this book for free via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.*

Leave a Reply

