Book Review: Socially Confident in 60 Seconds by Deborah Smith Pegues

I should have guessed this by the title but this book is geared heavily toward extroverts who lack confidence. It isn’t really all that helpful for introverts and especially not for people who lack ability to follow proper social protocols. If you, like myself, are incapable regardless of how much you try or practice of faking extroverted qualities and making small talk then this book won’t help you. 

To be fair I don’t think any book could help me learn to appear normal in conversations with strangers (or job interviews). I come across a certain way and I have come to accept that it can’t be helped. I’m not stressing over it anymore or trying to fake traits I don’t have (when it never works anyway). So, no being helpful to me isn’t really a flaw in this book. It’s just how things are. 

Back to the book itself, if you are an extrovert who lacks confidence and worries what people think of you and that makes you clam up when in front of people then this book could possibly help you. 

Honestly for the most part I feel like most of the advice is common sense and some of it is moderately insulting as it seems to want you to change your entire personality to please others which isn’t something anyone should really do. That said, for the purpose of job interviews or professional interactions it would be good advice. 

For me personally I couldn’t follow all of this advice if I wanted to (ex. Remember names and faces – I have semi- face blindness – unless something about you stands like a distinctive birthmark, tattoo or hair style then out the chances of me remembering you after only a hand full or less of interactions are almost zero and it isn’t something I can improve it is part of my neurological make up).  

I can say that I would recommend this book as much as I would any book geared toward this topic. I can also say that some of the more common manners geared things may be useful to younger people as well. It isn’t a useless book. It’s just not for me.
You can buy Socially Confident in 60 Seconds at your favorite bookseller. 

*i received this book free via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review* 

Leave a Reply

