Book Review: The Secret Language of Dogs by Victoria Stilwell

The Secret Language of Dogs is a great teaching manual for understanding and training dogs. The methods are based on reward training and teaching good behavior as opposed to punishing bad behavior and causing the dog anxiety and stress. The methods sound pretty effective to me and I have used similar techniques with my dogs and they usually are effective. 

Of course, I’m sure other people have had success with other methods but if you are interested in this technique then this book could be useful to you. I can’t confirm or refute any of the science of the studies mentioned in the book. I have no idea how well researched the book is or how well coordinated the studies were. 

All I know is the logic of the methods makes sense and they match up with things that I have read in other books as well as things that worked with my dogs. 

Also, the book can help you understand and pay attention to your dogs body language and behavior patterns. Both of which provide valuable information in training and caring for your dog. 

I definitely recommend this book for any current or future dog owners. Even if you opt not to use a certain training method it is always useful to read and learn about different options. 

If you would like to read The Secret Language of Dogs you can purchase it at your favorite bookseller. 

*I received this book free from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review

One thought on “Book Review: The Secret Language of Dogs by Victoria Stilwell

Leave a Reply

