Book Review: How To Catch A (Rock) Star by Gabrielle Aquilina

I actually didn’t realize this was a romance when I initially decided to read it for review. For some reason I thought it was YA. I guess the title sounded YA to me. 

It is definitely romance, though. Complete with detailed sex scenes and overly dramatic melt downs after breakups. 

Not that it is a bad book. It isn’t bad at all. It had some moments I disliked, mostly at the end but it did try hard not to come across as mysogonistic as so many  romance novels tend to be. 

When a character essentially victim blames someone for what would have been some form of date rape had it actually occurred he does later admit to being wrong for thinking that way but I still didn’t like that he did it to begin with. To be fair no one else does, though. So, it mostly just made me not like that character much as opposed to making me dislike the book. 

Not liking that character, a main character, was an issue I had with the book that made me enjoy slightly less than I could have but that was a personal opinion of a character and not one i think a ton of romance readers would share. 

I would still wholly recommend this book to fans of romance books. I love books geared around bands and music. So, I enjoyed this book. It took me a bit longer to read than it usually would have due to lack of time on my part but in normal circumstances I would have binge read this in one night. 

If you would like to read How To Catch A (Rock) Star you can buy it now at your favorite book seller. 

Also, look for it’s upcoming sequel How To Catch A (Falling) Star. I’m looking forward to reading that one. It’s about Johnny, who was my favorite character in this book. 

*I received this book for free via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review* 

Leave a Reply

