Book Review: Caillou Goes To School by Anne Paradis

My daughter loves Caillou. I know people think he is whiny and some parents hate him but I don’t. He just seems like a toddler to me and my kid loves the show. 

We also have some of the books and while she doesn’t love being read to (no idea why) she will usually watch and listen for the Caillou books. This one (read on my tablet) was no exception. 

In this book, Caillou attends little brother and sister day at his friend Sarah’s school. Sarah doesn’t have a little brother or sister so she invites Caillou. 

This book is a good introduction to how a day at school works and would be excellent for a child who is nearing school age. It could especially help a child that is scared and doesn’t know what to expect.

If you are familiar with Caillou (and I assume most people are) then you know what the artwork looks like. It’s primary color dominant but fairly simple in detail.   I really like the way Caillou is drawn but not everyone does. 

If you are only familiar with the show and it’s blurry edges and washed out look then I should warn you this book is brighter and sharper. I prefer the style of the books over the show. Some kids may notice the difference but I don’t think most would mind. 

You can buy Caillou Goes To School at your favorite book seller on August 9th. 

*I received this book free from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.*

Leave a Reply

