Book Review: Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler

Tempest Rising is the first book in the Jane True series by Nicole Peeler. It isn’t a new book but I discovered this series not long ago. So, it was new to me. 

Jane True lives in a small town by the ocean famous for its whirlpool nicknamed the Old Sow. The sow will claim lives if anyone is brave (or dumb) enough to swim near it. No one does not course. Except Jane. Jane can swim around it without being pulled in. Jane can navigate the ocean and survive even in the cold. She doesn’t know why. 

Until strangers start showing up and some of them start dying. Jane finds a body and some new friends. One of whom is an attractive vampire that has more than friendly intentions toward Jane. 

Jane’s new friends fill her in on some details about her mother that she wasn’t aware of. Which also explains some things about Jane herself, including her midnight winter swims in the ocean. 

While I don’t love everything about this book, Jane is a bit flustery for my preference. She comes across a bit meek and her lack of confidence is a little….I don’t know. I just don’t like my female heroines to be such pushovers and stereotypically the female that needs to be saved all the time. I find it a little insulting. 

All of that said, if you get past that (and despite my above statement it isn’t THAT hard to get past) the book is fun. The world it creates is fun and Jane isn’t hard to route for. She’s sweet and adorable. You kind of want to give her a hug. 

I’m hoping as the series progresses Jane gets stronger and needs saving less often. I would love to see her do the saving of other people. 

Before I had even finished this book I had already bought more of the series. So, I’ve already started reading book 2. I’ll review it too when I’m finished. 
*i paid for this book myself. I received nothing in exchange for this review*

Leave a Reply

