Book Review: Crafting With Feminism by Bonnie Burton

Okay, I mean Felicia Day does the forward for this and I love Felicia Day. I want to love anything she endorses. I really really really want to. 

So, I’m going to try to see this in this most positive light. I do get what it’s trying to do. It’s trying to make feminism fun and to poke fun at the stereotypes of feminists. So, things like a DIY burning bra and Vagina tree ornaments are meant to be satirical. 

It’s intended as a way to promote feminism while still having a sense of humor about it. And that’s a good thing. I could see this book appealing to a lot of people. I could see people throwing crafting parties based around these crafts. It would be lots of fun for some people. 

It just really, really, really isn’t for me. I don’t want a stuffed uterus body pillow or a little buddy made from a tampon or a pin that says “Hairy Legs Don’t Care”. It isn’t that I don’t have a sense of humor and that I don’t believe that feminist stereotypes are inaccurate and silly. I do and I do. 

I just don’t care to spend hours making a monster shaped tampon holder or a planter out of a high heel. It just would feel…icky and ridiculous and belittling of an important issue to me. Which I don’t mean as an insult to the author or to anyone that would enjoy it. I think a lot of people would love the book and that’s great. Just as much as I’d love to find it cute and quirky I just don’t. 
BUT I’m not saying you shouldn’t. By all means if you think you’d enjoy it then buy it and have a ball. I totally get where the appeal could be for some people and one idea IS pretty awesome (a bra with a secret stash pocket). Plus, it has a pretty awesome mix tape playlist and some cool movie and book recommendation lists. 

If you’d like to check out Crafting With Feminism you can buy it from your favorite book seller on October 18th. 

*I reviewed this book free from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review* 

Leave a Reply

